The sponsored Instagram post craze

untitled1

If you haven’t noticed the sponsored Instagram posts cropping up all over the place then where have you been? They’re everywhere. Follow a celebrity nowadays and you’re just accepting that every other photo will be sponsored…

I’m afraid I’m one of those people that follows 1355058 celebrities and reality TV stars on Instagram. It started with Geordie Shore, then I got addicted to Love Island, now my feed in 80% reality TV- #guiltypleasure. But recently I’ve found myself tempted to hit the unfollow button. Every other picture is of some sort of teeth whitening product, or a shake to make you skinny. It can get annoying. Then again, I can’t deny that I’d probably do the same if I was offered money for a simple Instagram picture. I really can’t blame them.

Untitled2.png

Image from Charlotte’s Instagram.

A new one caught my eye this week, Charlotte Crosby promoting jelly. It makes a change from shakes, and at least she made it clear that the post was sponsored with the hashtag #spon. Other stars have not been so clear with their adverts.

The Advertising Standards Agency states that:

“ADS MUST BE CLEARLY IDENTIFIABLE AS SUCH. PUT SIMPLY, A BLOGGER WHO IS GIVEN MONEY TO PROMOTE A PRODUCT OR SERVICE HAS TO ENSURE READERS ARE AWARE THEY’RE BEING ADVERTISED TO.“

quote from http://blogtacular.com/sponsored-posts-ads-reviews-the-asa-and-your-blog/

However, some stars aren’t signposting their adverts. One I’ve noticed in particular recently is Sophie Gradon from Love Island. Now, I may be completely wrong and she may just have fancied taking a shot with some vitamin tablets (doubtful) so if that’s the case I apologise, but these look like #spons posts to me.

Untitled3.png

Untitled4.png

Image from Sophie’s Instagram

As much as the posts annoy me, I don’t mind if the person behind the post is honest and signposts clearly. It’s not fair that people should post adverts without the right highlighting and deceive their followers.

Another issue with the sponsored posts are the mishaps that keep cropping up. Celebrities are not being too careful with their copy+pasting…

Jade from Little Mix was victim to this mistake when posting about their new fragrance launch. Instead of just using the caption she was sent, she used the whole message and showed all of their followers the full story behind the post.

713902_mistake_29b436384c64723ae8263f33242bdf0a

Image credit to http://www.creativenerds.org/little-mix-instagram-fail-5-times-celebrities-slipped-social-media/

 

 

So sponsored posts, what are your opinions? Good or bad? Do they annoy you? Let me know below or catch me over on Twitter.

Leave a Reply

